Unitarian Universalists have many ways of articulating our Seven Principles in simpler language. Here’s the way our Tapestry of Faith children’s programs describe them:

  1. We believe that each and every person is important.
  2. We believe that all people should be treated fairly and kindly.
  3. We believe that we should accept one another and keep on learning together.
  4. We believe that each person must be free to search for what is true and right in life.
  5. We believe that all persons should have a vote about the things that concern them.
  6. We believe in working for a peaceful, fair, and free world.
  7. We believe in caring for our planet Earth, the home we share with all living things.

Here are our principles, expressed using the colors of the rainbow:

Red:          Respect all beings

Orange:     Offer fair and kind treatment

Yellow:      Yearn to learn 

Green:       Grow in spirit and mind

Blue:          Believe in your ideas and act on them

Indigo:       Insist on peace, freedom, and justice

Violet:        Value the connections in all creation

*The Unitarian Universalist Association has proposed the eighth principle below.