Unitarian Universalists have many ways of articulating our Seven Principles in simpler language. Here are our principles, expressed using the colors of the rainbow:

Another way for children to learn our UU Principles is to use the colors of the rainbow. The first letter of each principle stands for the first letter of the corresponding color of the seven colors of the rainbow: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet.

RED: Respect the inherent worth and dignity of each person. (Respect all beings)
The inherent worth and dignity of every person.

Orange: Offer fair and kind treatment to everyone. (Offer fair and kind treatment)
Justice, equity, and compassion in human relations.

YELLOW: Yes to spiritual growth and learning together. (Yearn to learn)
Acceptance of one another and encouragement for spiritual growth in our congregations.

Green: Grow by exploring ideas and finding YOUR truth. (Grow in spirit and mind)
A free and responsible search for truth and meaning.

Blue: Believe in our UU ideals and voice your vote. (Believe in your ideas and act on them)
The right of conscience and the use of the democratic process within our congregations and society at large.

INDIGO: Insist on peace, justice, and freedom for all. (Insist on peace, freedom, and justice)
The goal of the world community is peace, liberty, and justice for all.

VIOLET: Value our responsibility in the web of life. (Value the connections in all creation)
Respect for the interdependent web of all existence, of which we are a part.

*The Unitarian Universalist Association has proposed the eighth principle below.

Children’s Version of the Six Sources

  • The sense of wonder that we all share;
  • Women and men of long ago and today whose lives remind us to be kind and fair;
  • Ethical and spiritual wisdom from the world’s religions;
  • Jewish and Christian teachings that tell us to love others as we love ourselves;
  • The use of reason and discoveries of science;
  • The harmony of nature and the sacred circle of life.